Skip to content

Sound Advice for Beginning Language Learners

October 7, 2011

Everyday Language Learner.com

5.2020 ELL site no longer available. Here’s a list of other Language Learning blog worth a read.

If you have not had the opportunity to visit Aaron Myers’ site The Everyday Language Learner you are missing out. Aaron recently asked me to participate in a blog post he was putting together. He asked if I could share some advice with beginning language learners.

I’ll share a snippet of what I wrote:

… remember that learning is a process and the more consistent you are the better you will remember what you have been studying.

Don’t expect instant results. In the past I’ve experimented with language tools and tricks like others experiment with fad diets. What really works is consistent daily dedication.

There is a lot of good advice from the other 19 contributors. Please to go the post : Sage Advice from 20 Amazing People for the Beginning Language Learner to read the rest of my advice and the advice of others.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Derek permalink
    October 7, 2011 9:18 pm

    Yá’át’ééh saad aníídígíísh bóhwinił’ą́ą́? :)

  2. Carmen permalink
    October 10, 2011 1:21 pm

    Great advice, and thank you for the link to the article on Sage Advice. I totally needed to read through those bits of advice this morning. Remember that you are doing a great thing with this blog! You keep me motivated.

    I recently started taking beginning O’odham language courses in the O’odham community I currently work in, and I can definitely see how easier it has been to pick up the sounds because of what I’m familiar with in terms of Navajo sounds and maneuvering. =)

Leave a comment